“We Are in This Together”

President Irfaan Ali taking the oath of office.

GEORGETOWN, Guyana, Aug 2, CMC – Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali was on Sunday sworn in as President of Guyana promising a government “that is accessible” and transparent and urging Guyanese to put aside their differences for the betterment of the country.

Ali, 40, took the Oath of Office at the Arthur Chung Conference Center before acting Chancellor of the Judiciary, Justice Yonette Cummings Edwards, less than three hours after the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) declared him the winner of the disputed March 2 regional and general elections.

He promised to work every day in the interest of the people of Guyana.

“There is only one future and that future requires a United Guyana. That future requires a strong Guyana. That future requires every Guyanese to play a part in building our country …

“We are in this together. We are not separated by class, by ethnicity, by religion or political persuasion. We are united in the true Guyanese spirit,” the new President said.

President Irfaan Ali addresses a gathering at his swearing in ceremony, Sunday Aug 2, 2020.

Ali promised Guyana that his administration would not “disappoint you” and thanked the population “sincerely for your confidence and your trust but you will know that in voting for the PPP you’ve elected a Government to serve all the people of Guyana and that is what we will be doing.”

The new President said he is looking forward to a smooth transmission from the David Granger administration.

Ali said he intends to name his Cabinet as soon as possible so that the work of the new government can begin almost immediately.

“You will have a government that is accessible and one that will be more than willing to share with you information as we work on building our Guyana in the interest of all,” he said.

Brigadier Mark Phillips taking the oath of office as Prime Minister.

Ali acknowledge the support of international partners and supporters. He noted, “Today is about celebrating democracy and in doing so I cannot leave this podium without thanking our international partners, our regional partners, all the other political parties and members of the Guyanese community who committed themselves and cemented their work in service of our country and protection of our democracy… I assure you that Guyana is better because of your efforts. Guyanese will have a brighter future because of your efforts.”

Senior PPP/C officials, including former president Bhrrat Jagdeo, who was named Vice-President, Gail Teixeria, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Anil Nandlall, the Attorney general and Mark Phillips as the Prime Minister, were also sworn in.

Bharrat Jagdeo being sworn in as Vice President

Ali said that outgoing president Granger had been invited but stayed away.

Heads of the Guyana Defence Force, the Guyana Police Force and the Guyana Fire Service as well as several heads of overseas missions attended the event.

Ali, a former housing minister in the last PPP/C administration, is married to Arya Ali and is the father of one son.

Anil Nandall being Sworn in as Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

GECOM on Sunday declared that the main opposition People’s Progressive Party /Civic (PPP/C) had won the most seats — 32 in the 65-member Parliament, with the outgoing coalition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) receiving 31 seats and the other political parties, one seat, under Guyana’s proportional representation electoral system.

Gail Teixeira being sworn in as Parliamentary Affairs Minister.