Desmond Trotman Sworn in as a New GECOM Member


President Defends Selection

GEORGETOWN, Guyana – Former parliamentarian Desmond Trotman was sworn in as a new member of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on Friday with President David Granger acknowledging the experience of the member of the Working People’s Alliance for the post.

“You can’t fake experience,” Granger said, noting “my judgement prevails and I am empowered under the Constitution to exercise my judgement in this matter.

Desmond Triotman being sworn in as new GECOM Commissioner
“I believe that when all of the nominees were looked at, Mr. Trotman is the fittest person”, he said.

Trotman replaces Sandra Jones who died earlier this week and Granger said he had consulted with members of the coalition government prior to making the appointment.

Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Raphael Trotman told reporters that his party was a bit disappointed by the President’s choice since it was hoping that its nominee would have been the final choice.

GECOM has six Commissioners and the Guyana Constitution allows for the President to pick three of the nominees based on his own personal judgement, while the other three are selected based on the advice of the opposition.

GECOM is expected to hold it first meeting under the chairmanship of the new chairman, retired Justice James Patterson, later on Friday.

Last month, President Granger appointed Patterson as GECOM chairman, a decision that has resulted in the main opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) filing a motion in the High Court seeking to reverse the appointment.

In the motion, the PPP is alleging that President Granger was biased in his selection and that he also violated the constitution by selecting the retired High Court judge to replace Dr. Steve Surujbally, who retired last November. – CMC